I WILL DO…

Thanks Les for a great morning read! Because I can’t comment on certain blogger’s sites (and blogger and WordPress don’t seem to care), I suppose I can leave my comment here since I am linking up today! How silly is this. Anyways, this post was actually particularly meaningful for me because I am pregnant – and have had many emotions about the fact I am growing a human. And it’s all because of that wonderful monthly shedding that causes the tears during Dancing with the Stars and the anger when Mr. Sexy forgets to turn the heat down at night. Our bodies are magnificent. Thank you for reminding me!

Wondering what the heck I’m talking about? You can see Les’ post here!

 


 

 

But now for my post.

 

This past year I have struggled through some downs and celebrated victories with my Pure Romance business. Yet, through all of it, I was not where I wanted to be. At just about every party I had done, I came home to a husband ready to celebrate my successes, while all I wanted to do was look at where I went wrong and figure out how to fix it. Sometimes, when I would share a success with my PR Mama but downplay it as a, “it should have been better,” success, she would look at me with crazy eyes and say something like, “Girl, you did something amazing! You need to pat yourself on the back and enjoy this moment of success!” So I tried, but still, I’m the type who needs to be doing my best – otherwise, in my mind at least, I fail.

It has been fun to be “working” again. I say “working” because it feels so weird to call what I do work. I literally party for a living. I get to visit new homes, meet women from all over, show them how my products work while making them laugh the whole time, and at the end of the night, I walk away with a pay check.

I have been in business for one year as of yesterday. And this weekend was my most successful. For the first time, I saw my successes and felt proud. See, in anything I set out to do, I set a bar of success. When I don’t reach that level, it’s not a true success for me. My business has been no exception. I set high expectations for myself. And when I continued to not meet those standards, I became frustrated.

But it all came together, one year after starting my business. My expectations were met. It took one year of learning the business I started. One year of traveling to trainings and attending team meetings. One year of hearing some of the same business strategies over and over again. And let’s face it, sometimes we need to hear something multiple times before it sinks in. It’s these strategies that I finally implemented that have brought my business and my confidence to the next level.

This weekend, after three parties, I came home with a tired body, a proud spirit, and roughly $1,450 in PROFIT. Now, a portion of that goes to my hostesses and then I have a set percentage that I put back into my business to keep it growing.

Hitting this milestone, this weekend, for so many reasons, has my emotions bubbling. Please, bear with me while I share what this means for me and my family.

  • Mr. Sexy has been injured since October. He has not been able to work since December 23. He is receiving less pay because of this.
  • I am pregnant. We need all new gear. And, if it’s a boy, we need all new clothes.
  • Our car currently seats 5. Therefore, we need a new car. Within the next three months or so, we need to be driving a vehicle that can seat 6+ people.

There is a lot going on right now. And while all my earnings are going into savings, I know that in a pinch, if the worst happens, I am that buffer. Do you know how empowering that is? Because I put down cash one year ago to start this business, I am now in a supportive role of my family financially. How many stay-at-homes can say that? And let’s be honest. I’m not a stay-at-home mom anymore. I’m a woman, who gets to be a mom and a wife, a woman who gets to be home as much as she wants, a woman who also works and brings in a significant income.

My heart is singing today. If you couldn’t already tell, I’m incredibly proud of my accomplishments. I have put in a lot of time, energy and work into my business. We lost my main work computer in a fire and I therefore lost my office (which would be going anyways with a baby on the way). I have been disappointed in myself for not performing at my best. But through it all, I continued to push myself forward because I could still see the possibilities.

And there are still more expectations to be set. In fact, I have already set a new bar for myself. I have only scratched the surface of what my business can do for my family.

So, I suppose you can say I’m letting go of what I thought I couldn’t do. Instead, I am looking forward to what I WILL DO.

And what WILL I DO in 2016? This will be posted to Instagram soon! Hehehe

 

What is Pure Romance? I do in-home parties for women, 18+ where it is my job to create a fun, safe and comfortable environment for women. I teach sexual education while showing the best in bath & beauty, along with romance enhancements and bedroom accessories. 

8 thoughts on “I WILL DO…

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about Mr Sexy! Prayers for a speedy recovery and that all would be well with him.
    But you! So happy for you! And proud. Making money, having some Sexy Fun! Okay, that totally sounded like another job – but you know what I mean. ha. What a great testimony this is to preserver and most importantly: Believing In Yourself!! And that is awesome. That’s the best thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

