Welcome

I could write the typical “welcome” post about the new year and all that.

But I can’t. Because that would feel cliche and that just isn’t me.

However, the other side of this word takes me to a darker place. I’m not sure I can describe what this word makes me think in just 5 minutes. If I were to attempt my thoughts and feelings on this idea, well, it would be an ugly, unfinished piece. Very little would be understood, I’m sure.

Strangely, the concept of welcome, of being welcomed, has been on my mind for days. I have thought about writing about it and that’s as far as I have gotten.  Sort of liking working out. I thought about it every day, more and more. And then, last week, I envisioned myself actually sticking the yoga dvd in my player and doing the moves. It didn’t happen. But a few days ago, my alarm went off at 6 saying “WORK OUT!” I don’t know who did that. But I got up.  I worked out. Accomplished.

So digging in to write about the concept of being welcomed in and feeling welcomed is something I will continue to think about.  Until the day I decided to put pen to paper or words to screen.

That’s actually 4 minutes of writing but I feel like ’nuff said for now.

 

See what others are writing about on the prompt: Welcome

Click the picture.

7 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. I’m glad you didn’t write the typical “welcome” post and don’t like to be cliche. I don’t really like to be cliche either and try to find different ways of saying things. I’m sure I resort to cliche sometimes, but I try not to. It’s interesting that you’ve been thinking about welcoming for a while. I’d love to hear your thoughts when you have time to really flesh them out. I’m visiting from #fmf

    Like

  2. that is a tough one. you know I’ve been sitting here for about 5 minutes now after finishing reading your post — and I got basically nothing too. For some reason I just get the image of a warm hug. but I can’t quite grasp the words to go with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

