My First Date

I sort of wanted to throw up.  But I knew I wasn’t sick.  Nothing felt sick except for my tummy. It really didn’t feel good. It would be a few years before I learned that I was feeling nerves many refer to as “the butterflies.”

I picked out my prettiest dress.  It was white with layers in the skirt.  I only wore it on the most special occasions. I put on matching tights and matching shoes.  I felt like a princess. I hoped he would think I looked pretty. He was the only one who had an opinion that mattered.  At least on that day that’s how it was.

My first date.

I heard someone call that it was time to go.

I majestically floated to the top of the stairs, knowing all eyes would be on me. I was Cinderella at the ball.  I noticed quickly that my dad didn’t get quite as dressed up as me.  I didn’t know why not because we were going to the fanciest restaurant in the world: Olive Garden.  I felt a little shy as I walked downstairs.  That wasn’t the princess way.  But my dad thought I looked beautiful and that made me feel nervous.

We went out to eat and I was as proper as I could be.  We ordered fancy food and drank from pretty glasses. I don’t know what we said to each other, if we said anything at all.  That’s not what I cared about.

I was wearing my prettiest dress. It was just me and my dad. That’s all that mattered.

 Do you have a story about your dad? 

Click the link below and join the rest of us.

Retired Not Tired Memory Monday

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

8 thoughts on “My First Date

Leave a Reply

